Welcome.

Glad you stopped by. I hope you'll stop by again for Monday Morning Musings, Meet the Author Thursday, Weekend Writing Warriors, and guests whenever they drop in.

Tuesday, July 30, 2019

Guest: Abigail Owen THE ROGUE KING #NewRelease @AOwenBooks

I'm thrilled to welcome Abigail Owen to my blog today. She has a new release, which she'll tell you about. I'm extra-thrilled to announce her book, The Boss, won the RWA Fantasy, Futuristic, & Paranormal chapter's Prism Award. Whoo-hoo, Abigail. Besides being an Award-Winning author, she is a regular contributor to the Paranormal Romantics blog. Busy girl! Here's Abigail to tell you about The Rogue King. This is her 1st book in mass-market paperback. What an accomplishment!

Today is Release Day!

The Rogue King
(Inferno Rising #1)
By Abigail Owen

Kasia Amon is a master at hiding. Who—and what—she is makes her a mark for the entire supernatural world. Especially dragon shifters. To them, she’s treasure to be taken and claimed. A golden ticket to their highest throne. But she can’t stop bursting into flames, and there’s a sexy dragon shifter in town hunting for her…

As a rogue dragon, Brand Astarot has spent his life in the dark, shunned by his own kind, concealing his true identity. Only his dangerous reputation ensures his survival. Delivering a phoenix to the feared Blood King will bring him one step closer to the revenge he’s waited centuries to take. No way is he letting the feisty beauty get away.

But when Kasia sparks a white-hot need in him that’s impossible to ignore, Brand begins to form a new plan: claim her for himself…and take back his birthright.


Buy Links:


Crossover Series – Fire’s Edge
Love the kings and clans of the Inferno Rising series? Wonder what’s happening over in the colonies where Enforcers protect and defend dragon shifter’s way of life? Check them out in Abigail’s Fire’s Edge crossover series!



Early Praise:
Sexy, suspenseful, and smoking hot!” - NYT bestselling author, Alyssa Day
“It was absolutely fantastic!!! This paranormal story was non-stop action from beginning to end. I loved the characters, the storyline and the authors writing style.” - Crissy, Goodreads
I absolutely loved it!” - Sandy K., Goodreads
“The Rogue King is a great start to a new series by Abigail Owen. Right from the prologue, the story pulls you in.” - Sandra, Goodreads
“I truly recommend this book to all you paranormal romance book lovers out there. These dragon shifters are worthy of your love as readers. They are fun, loyal, loving and not to be trifled with. You are guaranteed to fall in love…” - Moohnshine’s Corner
“THE ROGUE KING is a thrilling new spin-off series perfect for fans of Donna Grant and Sherrilyn Kenyon.” - Olivia F., Goodreads


“The world building was good. This is just what I look for in a paranormal read.” - Carissa, Goodreads
“The Rogue King was a thrilling read! There’s so much happening in this book, but what stood out...a few spies, lots of secrets, some sexy, protective dragon shifters, wolf shifters, a fantastic battle with really mad dragons, and a smoking hot romance that could burn the ground down!” - Jewlsbookblog, Goodreads
Absolutely loved the chemistry and banter between Kasia and Brand.” - Lindsey I., Goodreads
“This was so good, I couldn't put it down. Can't wait for the next one.” - Lisa, Goodreads



Excerpt:
The only warning she got that she was being followed was the flick of a shadow in the headlights. Before she could react, a massive golden dragon slammed down on the road in front of her about half a mile out. She almost expected the ground to shake with the force, but the act was near silent.
Dammit.
She gritted her teeth and tightened her hands on the wheel. Rather than stop, Kasia hit the gas, pushing the car to go faster. He wasn’t taking her without a fight, that was for damn sure.
The dragon’s deep golden scales glittered in the oncoming headlights. He didn’t budge. But he did growl, his tail slashing back and forth.
“Move, you scaly bastard,” she muttered.
But she didn’t let up on the pedal.
He lowered his head and let loose a growl of warning, which she responded to by stomping harder on the gas.
“Get out of the way!”
She had no intention of playing chicken. If he didn’t, she’d ram this car down his fire-breathing throat. The hell with it. She didn’t want to go back to that cabin in Alaska anyway. Maul would miss her, but he’d be the only one.
Only the dragon didn’t move. Okay then. Kasia braced for impact.
At the moment she should’ve slammed into him, the beast heaved himself into the air, and she zoomed past, fishtailing underneath him from the force of the wind his wings caused.
He must’ve backed up, because he landed on the road in front of her again.
“You want another go, you oversized flying iguana?” she shouted, and bore down on him.
And again, he hopped out of her way only to land in her path.
Damn. Kasia held in a scream of fear-tinged frustration. They could keep this up all night, getting them nowhere fast. He wasn’t going to let her go.
With a growl of aggravation, though not defeat, Kasia stomped on the brakes. The tires squealed in protest, and the unpleasant odor of burning rubber followed her as she skidded the car to a stop broadside of the dragon, only a few feet away. If she rolled down her window, she could reach out and touch him.
The terrifying creature moved around the car, his movements more of a glide, like golden water flowing around her. He lowered his head to gaze in at her with an eye the size of her entire thigh. He snorted, and smoke trailed from his nostrils as he glared at her.
Please let this be Brand, and not some other phoenix-stealing dragon shifter.
Kasia glared back but raised her hands off the steering wheel in a gesture of surrender.


Author Bio:
Award-winning paranormal romance author, Abigail Owen, grew up consuming books and exploring the world through her writing. She attempted to find a practical career related to her favorite pastime by earning a degree in English Rhetoric (Technical Writing). However, she swiftly discovered that writing without imagination is not nearly as fun as writing with it.

No matter the genre, she loves to write witty, feisty heroines, sexy heroes who deserve them, and a cast of lovable characters to surround them (and maybe get their own stories). She currently resides in Austin, Texas, with her own personal hero, her husband, and their two children, who are growing up way too fast.


Book Info:
Publisher: Entangled Publishing, Amara
Author: Abigail Owen
Cover Art: KAM Designs
Page Count: 400
Word Count: 103k
Release Date: 7/30/2019
Steam Rating: Hot


RWA FF&P chapter's Prism Award winner 2019.




Abigail was on this blog on September 24, 2018 to announce this book. Click here to read about it.

6 comments:

  1. Thank you so much for having me!!!

    ReplyDelete
  2. I guess I’d surrender, too! Love the action. Congrats and best of luck with your new release.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Congratulations! Sounds like an exciting story!

    ReplyDelete
  4. Great cover!
    Sounds like a good book
    Good luck and God's blessings
    PamT

    ReplyDelete

Love getting your comments. BTW, your comment won't show up until you refresh the page. Isn't that a pain? Thanks for stopping by.